Formerly the site of a marble quarry (1810-1947), and then a privately-owned tourist attraction (1951-1983), the site became a state park in 1985, to preserve its unique geologic features. The arch, and its associated marble block dam, and quarry have long been the hidden attraction in this old mill town. And it had garnered the attention of photographers, artists, and writers; including Nathaniel Hawthorne, who, in 1838, wrote of his visits in his book, Passages from the American Notebooks of Nathaniel Hawthorne.
Tears in the Rain -- a Blade Runner short
2 weeks ago